Diamonds have a variety of colors colorless, white, steel, blue, yellow, orange, red, green, pink, brown, and black.  Colored diamonds have impurities in them or structural defects that cause the diamond to get its color over time. For instance, impurities replace a carbon atom in the crystal lattice the most common is nitrogen, causes a yellowish or brownish tinge.


Most white diamonds are discounted in price as more yellow hue is detectable, while pink or blue diamonds can be more valuable. A diamond with intense color is labeled “fancy”  the yellow diamond for example.  When you look at a diamond and you can see a yellow tint this is considered I, or J color this is not considered a fancy diamond.  In order for a yellow diamond to be considered a “fancy diamond,” it would be a bright yellow not a hint of yellow diamonds with higher color grades are rare, and more expensive.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.